Inspiration Wall, 2018

Merck Innovation Center, Darmstadt, Germany

Inspiration Wall is a spatial kinetic installation situated in the foyer of the Innovation Center. Being processual, dynamic and responsive, the installation symbolizes the interplay between inspiration and innovation, and giving the foyer its unique identity.

The dynamic interaction between the physical movement of the screens and the virtual movement of the images follows a generative choreography. The screens interact with the moving images and vice versa.

The kinetic installation expands across almost 18 meters of slightly convex wall space and consists of 72 screens, arranged in 24 rows of 3 screens each. These screens move individually on a vertical axis.

The moving images are created processually and in real-time, within a predefined spectrum. The numerous scenes are generated on the basis of ten ‘visual worlds’. Their generative elements create ever-changing visuals. The abstract imagery is inspired by four material properties – crystalline, cellular, molecular, and fluid. Four graphic ‘transitions’ seamlessly interconnect the individual scenes.

The installation changes its appearance over the course of the day. Depending on the scene, the installation responds to the visitors. With more people moving through the foyer, the dynamics of the choreography increase. The special screens shine brighter at the onset of darkness, making the installation protrusive to viewers outside the building. With the decline in numbers of visitors towards the end of the day, the choreography calms down.

Typographic content is added to the flow of images. These consist of short announcements by the Innovation Center, limited to 140 characters as well as the latest hashtags from selected Twitter Channels used by Merck.

Inspiration Wall was commissioned by Henn architecture and was produced in collaboration with schnellebuntebilder and MKT AG.

Image ARTCOM_Merck_03 ©HG Esch

Inspiration Wall, 2018

Merck Innovation Center, Darmstadt

Die Inspiration Wall ist eine raumgreifende kinetische Installation, die dem Foyer des Innovation Center eine unverwechselbare Identität gibt. Sie versinnbildlicht in ihrer Prozessualität, Dynamik und Reaktivität das Zusammenspiel von Inspiration und Innovation.

Die Choreographie der Installation entwickelt sich aus der dynamischen Interaktion der physischen Bewegung der Monitore und der virtuellen Bewegung der Bilder: Die Monitore interagieren mit den auf ihnen gezeigten Bilder – ihre Bewegungen beeinflussen sich gegenseitig.

Die sich über eine fast 18 m lange, leicht konvexe Wand erstreckende Installation besteht aus 24 Reihen mit je 3 Monitoren, die sich einzeln vertikal bewegen lassen.

Die Bewegtbilder der Installation werden innerhalb eines vordefinierten Spektrums prozedural in Echtzeit erzeugt: Die zahlreichen individuellen Szenen entwickeln sich aus zehn verschiedenen visuellen Welten und gestalten sich durch generative Elemente immer wieder anders. Inspiriert sind die abstrakten Bilder von vier verschiedenen Eigenschaften: kristallin, zellulär, molekular und fluide. Vier grafische “Transitions” schaffen einen nahtlosen Übergang zwischen den einzelnen Szenen.

Die Installation reagiert auch auf die Bewegung der Besucher und ändert ihr Aussehen und Verhalten im Tagesverlauf. Mit zunehmender Aktivität im Foyer erhöht sich die Dynamik der Choreographie. Die besonders lichtstarken Monitore leuchten am Abend mit einsetzender Dunkelheit stärker, sodass die Installation im Inneren des Foyers durch die Glasfassade gut sichtbar ist, während die Choreographie ruhiger wird.

In den Fluss der Bilder mischen sich zudem typografische Inhalte: kurze Ankündigungen des Innovation Centers bis zu einer maximalen Länge von 140 Zeichen und aktuelle Hashtags ausgewählter Twitter-Kanäle von Merck.

Die Inspiration Wall entstand im Auftrag von Henn Architektur und in Zusammenarbeit mit schnellebuntebilder und der MKT AG.

Bild ARTCOM_Merck_03 ©HG Esch