Qurator, 2018-2021

The information management workload of curators and media managers is rising dramatically with an ever-increasing volume of media content, a proliferation of devices, and ever-shrinking timelines. Knowledge workers face a rapidly expanding magnitude of digitally available information and need to find new ways to structure it effectively for profitable use.

The Qurator research project is a collaboration between ART+COM Studios and nine other companies working together to create intelligent solutions that support knowledge workers.

For Qurator, ART+COM builds on the research results of its predecessor project, Digital Curation Technologies, to develop innovative technologies for exhibition curation based on Artificial Intelligence. An interdisciplinary and user-centred design approach puts the focus on the usability of the technologies.

Exploring and structuring a topic is a critical first in the curating process. So, our primary interest lies in the development of tools that facilitate research of not only text content, but other media formats including images, moving images, 3D models, and spoken language. The tools need to be able to incorporate knowledge from external sources to enable a semi-automated generation and classification of ontologies.

“Classical” media content was not the only object of investigation—immersive processes are also included in the Qurator project. The basic concepts of augmented and virtual reality have existed for decades, but the technology has only recently matured enough for use in practical applications. In a subsequent phase, ART+COM is developing the use of VR and AR to support manual curating functionalities, with the resulting methods to be integrated into a toolbox for interactive media content that supports all phases of the curating process.

We are applying the knowledge gained by developing “smart” AI-based exhibits that can personalise and contextualise multimedia content in museums, exhibitions, visitor centres, and showrooms.

The tools and processes developed during each phase are intended for commercial applications, as well as being used in the expansion of our expertise in conceiving and realising innovative, participative, and individualised communication in exhibitions.

Qurator is supported by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).

Qurator, 2018-2021

Immer mehr mediale Inhalte müssen in kürzester Zeit für verschiedenste Geräte aufbereitet werden. Damit erhöht sich das Informationsmanagement für Kurator*innen und Medienverantwortliche dramatisch. Wissenarbeiter*innen müssen sich der Herausforderung der rasant steigenden Menge an digital verfügbaren Informationen stellen und neue Wege finden, diese effizient zu strukturieren und gewinnbringend einzusetzen.

Im Forschungsprojekt Qurator arbeitet ART+COM Studios zusammen mit neun weiteren Unternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen an intelligenten Lösungen zur Unterstützung von Wissensarbeiter*innen.

ART+COM baut in Qurator auf die Forschungsergebnisse des Vorgänger-Projektes Digitale Kuratierungstechnologien auf und entwickelt für die Kuratierung von Ausstellungen innovative Technologien, die auf Künstlicher Intelligenz basieren. Einen interdisziplinären und nutzerzentrierten Design-Ansatz verfolgend steht für uns die Usability der entwickelten Technologien im Vordergrund.

Ein erster und wichtiger Schritt im Kuratierungsprozess ist die Ergründung und Strukturierung eines Themas. Unser primäres Interesse liegt daher auf der Entwicklung von Tools, die nicht nur die Recherche von Textinhalten, sondern auch von Medienformaten wie Bild, Bewegtbild, 3D-Modellen oder gesprochener Sprache erleichtern. Diese Verfahren sollen außerdem das Wissen aus externen Quellen nutzen, um eine semi-automatische Generierung und Klassifikation von Ontologien zu ermöglichen.

Doch nicht nur „klassische“ Medieninhalte dienen uns als Untersuchungsgegenstand, auch immersive Verfahren finden im Qurator-Projekt Berücksichtigung. Obwohl die Grundkonzepte von Augmented und Virtual Reality seit Jahrzehnten existieren, sind die Technologien erst seit kurzer Zeit für Anwendungen in der Praxis reif genug. ART+COM untersucht den Einsatz von VR und AR zur Unterstützung von manuellen Kuratierungsfunktionalitäten in einem weiteren Arbeitsschritt. Die entwickelten Verfahren sollen schließlich in eine Toolbox für interaktive Multimedia-Inhalte integriert werden, die alle Phasen im Kuratierungsprozess unterstützt.

Wir nutzen die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse, um “smarte”, auf KI basierende Exponate zu entwickeln, die Besucher*innen in Museen, Besucherzentren, Showrooms oder Ausstellungen multimediale Inhalte personalisiert und kontextualisiert vermitteln können.

Die von uns entwickelten Tools und Verfahren zielen auf eine kommerzielle Verwertung im Anschluss an das Forschungsprojekt ab und bauen unsere Expertise in der Konzeption und Realisierung von innovativer, partizipativer und individualisierter Kommunikation in Ausstellungen aus.

Qurator wird vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) gefördert.