At the ART+COM Studios in Cologne and Berlin, we use new media to design and develop installations, objects and spaces in both analogue and digital format. We create environments that allow people to enjoy experiences that would otherwise be unimaginable in everyday life.

We use new technology as a means of artistic expression, as a medium for interactive communication and for sensory experiences. We augment the visitors’ capabilities and show them new ways to interact with the world. Enabling people to do this is what drives us. 

ART
ART+COM designs media sculptures, installations and interventions that give their respective locations an identity – going beyond their function and architecture. Our art projects come into being through commissions for public spaces and private initiatives, as well as through our own motivation.

COMMUNICATION
ART+COM conceives and creates media installations and spaces that vividly correlate complex content in tangible experiences. We design analogue and digital exhibits, brand spaces, exhibitions and museums that captivate visitors and inspire them to interact. 

RESEARCH 
We see our research and development work as a source of inspiration and a basis for experimentation when designing innovations. We also use it as a decision-making tool when we look for cutting-edge interfaces and new forms of interaction and communication. By taking this approach in previous projects, we have created generative applications and computational reflectives. It has also helped us find new solutions in augmentation and interactive surfaces.

Heritage
Originally founded in 1988 as the registered association ART+COM e. V., today ART+COM works for international clients from industry, culture and research.

Team
At the ART+COM Studios, colleagues from the areas of media design, media art, IT development, programming, communication and product design, science, engineering and project management work hand in hand. Projects are developed in interdisciplinary teams working from their different perspectives. Together, we strive to push boundaries and create something new.

Management
ART+COM has been an unlisted company (AG) since 1998. It is owned by former members of ART+COM e. V., its employees and the board. Andreas Wiek has been the Chairman of ART+COM AG since 2000. Joachim Sauter was a founder member of ART+COM. He was our Head of Design and a board member until 2021.

In den ART+COM Studios Köln und Berlin gestalten und entwickeln wir analoge und digitale Installationen, Objekte und Räume mit neuen Medien. Menschen sollen in den Umgebungen, die wir gestalten, Erfahrungen machen können, die für sie sonst im Leben unmöglich sind.

Wir nutzen neue Technologien als künstlerische Ausdrucksmittel, als Medien zur interaktiven Vermittlung und für ein sinnliches Erleben. Wir augmentieren Menschen mit neuen Fähigkeiten und neuen Möglichkeiten, mit der Welt zu interagieren. Diese Ermächtigung von Besucher*innen ist, was uns antreibt.

ART
ART+COM gestaltet mediale Skulpturen, Installationen und Interventionen, die ihren jeweiligen Orten – über deren Funktion und ihre Architektur hinaus – Identität verleihen. Unsere Kunstprojekte entstehen im Auftrag für den öffentlichen Raum, aus privater Initiative und aus eigener Motivation.

COMMUNICATION
ART+COM entwirft und realisiert mediale Installationen und Räume, die komplexe Inhalte anschaulich vermitteln und Zusammenhänge erfahrbar machen. Wir gestalten analoge und digitale Exponate, Markenräume, Ausstellungen und Museen, die Menschen involvieren und zur Interaktion auffordern.

RESEARCH 
Wir verstehen unsere Forschung & Entwicklung als Inspirationsquelle und Experimentierfeld in Sachen Innovationsgestaltung und als Entscheidungshilfe bei der Auswahl neuartiger Interfaces und Interaktions- und Vermittlungsprinzipien. So sind in der Vergangenheit generative Anwendungen, Computational Reflectives oder neue Lösungen für Augmentierung und sensitive Oberflächen entstanden.

Heritage
1988 als ART+COM e. V. gegründet, ist ART+COM heute international für Auftraggeber*innen aus der Wirtschaft, Kultur und Forschung tätig.

Team
In den ART+COM Studios arbeiten Kolleg*innen aus den Bereichen Mediengestaltung, Medienkunst, IT-Entwicklung, Programmierung, Kommunikations- und Produktgestaltung, Wissenschaft, Ingenieurwesen und Projektmanagement Hand in Hand. Projekte werden in interdisziplinären Teams aus ihren individuellen Perspektiven heraus entwickelt. Unser Anspruch ist, Grenzen zu verschieben und gemeinsam Neues zu schaffen.

Vorstand
ART+COM ist seit 1998 eine nicht börsennotierte AG, getragen von den ehemaligen Mitgliedern des ART+COM e. V., den Mitarbeiter*innen und dem Vorstand. Andreas Wiek ist seit 2000 Vorstandsvorsitzender der ART+COM AG. Joachim Sauter war Gründungsmitglied von ART+COM und bis 2021 als Vorstand für die gestalterische Haltung von ART+COM verantwortlich.