Parametrische (T)Raumgestaltung — Parametric Dream-Room Design, 2013

Campus Virchow-Klinikum Charité, Berlin, Germany

In two new pilot-program intensive care rooms at the Campus Virchow-Klinikum Charité techni­cal equipment is relegated to the background and the visual environment can be adapted to the condition of patients. This intensive care unit is the result of a three-year collaborative research and development.

A central component of the interior room con­cept, designed by GRAFT Architects, is a large-format screen installed above the bed. The screen is curved down so that it fills the pa­tient’s field of vision. Built in cooperation with Philips, the screen’s coloured light is produced by 4000 LEDs. In addition to the RGB LEDs, high-powered, hot and cold white LEDs have been integrated, which, with an illuminance value of 20,000 lux, approxi­mates the brightness of a daylight sky.

ART+COM developed the media content, based on scientific findings and theories, in close colla­boration with the Department of Anaesthe­sio­logy and Operative Intensive Care Medicine at the Charité. The media content is intended to help patients to, for example, reorient them­selves after major surgery or when coming out of a coma. The visual content is inspired by natural pheno­mena and connects patients to the outside world. It should be cognitively stimula­ting, as well as stress and anxiety relieving, enabling the dosages of pain medication and sedatives to be reduced and the healing process of patients to be improved.

Central to the approach is the design of a day-night rhythm simulation that promotes natural sleep and can be protective against acute cognitive deficits, or ‘delirium’, in patients. The colour of the screen changes depending on the time of day, simulating the light spectrum of an entire 24-hour period. Current weather patterns (local or from anywhere in the world) are included, and the simulated sky changes accordingly. The clouds might be more dense, for example, or perhaps moving more quickly. Moving objects like birds and contrails also stimulate patient cognition.

In other content intended to reduce pain and anxiety, virtual leaves float down onto the screen. The colour, size, thickness and shape of the leaves can be adjusted to an individual patient’s condition. If these parameters are supplemented by weather patterns, a breeze can gently affect the leaves based on current wind levels. Intensive care patients that are awake at night are offered a choice of two visualisations: a quiet starry night or a view of moving points of light reminiscent of the dance of fireflies and that stimulates cognition.

The screen shows variable visualisations that are based on real processes of nature and can be parametrically adjusted by medical per­son­nel to match the condition of individual patients. This is achieved by entering clinically relevant patient data into a specially designed tablet interface.

The project Parametrische (T)Raumgestaltung is a joint research initiative by the Charité – Universitäts­medizin Berlin, GRAFT Architects, ART+COM, and the Charité CFM Facility Manage­ment GmbH. It is funded by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology and won the first prize in the Design & Health Management competition organised by the Berlin state initiative Project Future in 2012.

Parame­trische (T)Raumgestaltung, 2013

Campus Virchow-Klinikum der Charité, Berlin

Am Campus Virchow-Klinikum der Charité sind im Rahmen des Forschungs­projekts Parame­trische (T)Raumgestaltung zwei neu­artige Pilot-Intensivzimmer entstanden. In ihnen treten tech­nische Geräte in den Hinter­grund, während die visuelle Umge­bung individuell an den Zu­stand der Patienten an­passbar ist.

Zentrale Komponente der vom Architektur­büro GRAFT gestalteten Innenraum­konzep­tion ist ein groß­formatiger, medial bespiel­barer Screen, der über dem Bett ange­bracht ist, sich nach unten wölbt und so das Blick­feld ausfüllt. Gebaut wurde der Screen zusam­men mit Philips. An die 4.000 LEDs produ­zieren das farbige Licht des Screens. Neben RGB-LEDs sind auch Hoch­leis­tungs­leucht­­dioden mit warm- und kalt­weißer Licht­far­be integriert. Sie sind in der Lage, Be­leuch­tungsstärken von über 20.000 Lux zu er­zeugen, was in etwa der Licht­einwir­kung unter freiem Him­mel entspricht.

ART+COM entwickelte die medialen Bespie­lun­gen für den Screen in enger Zusammen­arbeit mit der Klinik für Anästhe­siologie mit Schwer­punkt operative Intensivmedizin an der Charité auf der Basis wissen­schaftlicher Erkenn­tnisse und Theorien. Die Bespie­lungen sollen den Patienten helfen, sich zum Beispiel nach schwe­ren Operationen oder Komas zu reorien­tieren. Die visuellen Inhalte lehnen sich an Natur­phä­nomenen an und ver­binden den Pa­tienten mit der Außen­welt. Sie sollen kognitiv stimu­lierend, stress­min­dernd und angstlösend wirken, sodass sich die Gabe von Schmerz- und Beruhigungs­medikamenten reduzieren lässt und sich der Hei­lungs­verlauf intensiv­pflichtiger Patienten verbessert.

Zentraler Ansatz der Gestaltung ist die Simu­lation einer Tag-Nacht-Rhythmik, die den natür­­lichen Schlaf fördert und sich protektiv auf akute kognitive Defizite des Pa­tienten, soge­nannte Delirien, aus­wirken kann. Die Farbe des Screens wechselt abhängig von der Tage­szeit und simu­liert so das ganze Licht­spektrum eines Tages. Wird als Para­meter auch das aktuelle Wetter (am Ort oder an einem belie­bigen Ort der Welt) hinzuge­zogen, ändert sich der simulierte Him­mel ent­sprechend. Beispiels­weise werden die Wolken dichter oder ziehen schneller. Beweg­liche Objekte wie Vögel oder Kondens­streifen stimulieren die Kognition des Patienten zusätzlich.

In einer weiteren Bespielung, die angst- und schmerzredu­zierend wirken soll, legen sich virtuelle Blätter eines Baumes auf den Screen. Die Farbe, Dichte, Größe und Form der Blätter kann individuell nach dem Zustand des Patien­ten eingestellt werden. Werden diese Para­meter wieder um Wetter­daten ergänzt, bewegt der Wind die Blätter in Relation zum aktuellem Windauf­kommen. Intensiv­medizinisch betreuten Patienten, die nachts häufig wach sind, bietet der Screen zwei verschie­dene Visuali­sierungen: wahlweise einen ruhigen Sternen­himmel oder den Blick auf bewegliche Licht­punkte, die an Glüh­würmchen erinnern und deren Tanz die Kognition trainiert.

Der Screen zeigt veränderliche, an realen Pro­zessen der Natur orientierte Visualisier­ungen, die vom medizinischen Fach­personal para­me­trisch an den Zustand des Patienten angepasst werden können. Dies geschieht über die Ein­ga­be klinisch rele­vanter Patienten­daten über ein spezielles Tablet-Interface.

Im gemeinsamen Forschungs­projekt Parame­trische (T)Raumgestaltung kooperieren als Partner die Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, das Architektur­büro GRAFT, ART+COM und die Charité CFM Facility Management GmbH. Es wird vom Bundes­minis­terium für Wirtschaft und Technologie ge­fördert und erreichte 2012 den ersten Platz im Wett­bewerb Design & Gesundheits­wirtschaft der Berliner Landesinitiative Projekt Zukunft.