Neo-Natur, 2019

Futurium, Berlin, Germany

At Futurium, an expansive, multi-part sculpture seems to grow organically out of the floor, twisting and climbing in all directions, cutting an eight-metre-high arc through the space.

The Neo-Natur sculpture symbolizes a new understanding of the natural world, taking into account humanity’s interventions in nature and technologization of natural processes, and at the same time recognising the inspiring and beneficial principles and systems in nature. Various displays surround Neo-Natur, presenting a variety of approaches to how we can find greater harmony with nature and learn more from the natural world.

In Neo-Natur, technology and nature meet. Its generative design is based on a mathematical principle known as Danzer tiling, which describes the aperiodic structure of quasicrystals. In quasicrystals, the golden ratio of nature, the mathematical constant tau, occurs repeatedly. Tau and the circle constant pi are both used in defining the golden ratio, which appears over and over again in natural structures such as plants. It also defines the floral pattern of Neo-Natur.

Using the Danzer tiling model as a basis, relatively few different modules can be used to computatively generate complex, organic-looking structures. 16 modules form the basis of fifteen hundred milled wood elements which were used to create Neo-Natur, and are held together with 4500 specially developed angle connectors. For the setup of the piece, an Augmented Reality app was programmed which rendered a 3D model of the complex sculpture visible in the exhibition space, using a HoloLens.

Design: ART+COM Studios and Schiel Projektgesellschaft mbH, Volker Zinsmeister, apfel,hübsch berlin
Planning, construction, production, setup: Art Department Studio Babelsberg
Engineering design, structural planning, production data, AR programming: ArtEngineering
Client: Futurium gGmbH

Neo-Natur, 2019

Futurium, Berlin

Im Futurium scheint eine riesige, mehrteilige Skulptur organisch aus dem Boden zu wachsen; sie dreht und strebt in verschiedene Richtungen und schlägt einen acht Meter hohen Bogen im Raum.
Die Neo-Natur Skulptur ist ein Sinnbild für ein neues Naturverständnis, das der Technisierung der Natur und dem Eingriff des Menschen in die Natur Rechnung trägt, das aber gleichzeitig in der Natur inspirierende und effektive Prinzipien und Lösungswege erkennt. Um die Skulptur herum sind im Denkraum Natur verschiedenste Denkansätze präsentiert, wie der Mensch besser im Einklang mit der Natur leben und aus ihr lernen kann.

In Neo-Natur kommen Technologie und Natur zusammen: Ihre generative Gestaltung folgt einem einem mathematischen Prinzip, der sogenannten Danzer-Kachelung, der das Prinzip der aperiodischen Struktur von Quasikristallen zugrunde liegt. Sie basiert auf dem Verhältnis der Zahl Tau beziehungsweise Pi, welche beide den Goldenen Schnitt definieren. Den Goldenen Schnitt findet man in der Natur im Aufbau von Pflanzen. Er bedingt auch die floralen Muster der Skulptur.

Auf der Basis der Danzer-Kachelung lassen sich komputativ selbst mit einer geringen Anzahl verschiedener Module komplexe, organisch wirkende Raumkörper generieren. Neo-Natur wurde aus 16 Modulen konstruiert und aus 1.500 aus Holz gefrästen Elementen und 4500 eigens entwickelten Winkelverbinder gebaut. Für den Aufbau wurde eine AR-Anwendung programmiert, die die komplexe Skulptur in 3D mit einer HoloLens im Ausstellungsraum sichtbar macht.

Gestaltung: ART+COM Studios und Schiel Projektgesellschaft mbH, Volker Zinsmeister, apfel,hübsch berlin
Planung, Konstruktion, Herstellung, Aufbau: Art Department Studio Babelsberg
Ingenieursplanung, Tragwerksplanung, Erstellung der Fertigungsdaten, AR-Programmierung: ArtEngineering
Auftraggeber: Futurium gGmbH